I have my computer back! I felt like someone had borrowed my right arm...and leg for awhile!
Thank you, favorite computer guy for taking my relic and turning it into a modern "grease lightning!"
The World Series is on us and though I'm not all that nuts about it, my husband is and I don't mind sitting and watching with him - alternating between my Woman's World crossword puzzle and keeping an eye on the famous faces that might be gracing the crowd! LOL.
I feel like I'm in my own private World Series. I think I am the loosing team. At one time team RMofP saw a glimmer of hope - we could maybe have a winning shot. True, the season was rough...I really thought I had been through the lowest of times this summer when we were in the actual process of emptying out our barn. I spent as much time at our summer place as I could so no one could reach me. I wanted to wallow alone and not let people see how I 'wasn't' handling it all. Of course, moms know better, cuz low and behold, I would get a message on my cell telling me she was praying (and cheering) for us and by the way, "you shouldn't isolate yourself from your family!" At thanksgiving dinner I came clean about it all and thanked my family for their much coveted prayers. But there was a plan! My coach (and yes, I sleep with the coach! heeheehee!) was working on game plans. Sometimes we got some hits, and other times we struck out quick. So Team RMofP finds itself in this World Series as the underdog. Well, underdogs sometimes win...don't they?
Then yesterday happened....
Dinner out. At a popular steakhouse. We love steak! Red wine. Yep, we like that too. My parents-in-law as company. Yes. We love them too! (I am blessed to have such a fantastic relationship with them!) Hog company PR men as company. NOT SO GREAT. The company with wich we no longer have a contract, decided to take us out to dinner to celebrate nearly 30 years of a "mutually benificial relationship" - as they put it. What a bitter dinner. Usually, I love that place. I felt so awkward. What should I do? Come on coach! What's the next play? Should I stand up and scream at them....you still have a job, I have a big empty space! Should I smile and make small talk? Maybe I should excuse myself, head to the bathroom and only return when it's time to go. Nothing seemed right. So I sat. I stared. I ate...sawdust, I think. I drank the red wine - I soooooo needed it! I talked a little. (That's when you know it's bad, cuz I've got so-and-so many words to get in in a day!) Team RMofP was in BIG trouble. We finally rose from the table. We smiled stiffly and shook hands....
Bottom of the ninth. Strike three. Three outs. Our private World Series was over. We didn't win.
There are no contracts out there to sign. Every day we hear of more and more hog producers who didn't win either. They are emptying their barns too. Waht will happen to all these teams next year? How will our World Series shape up then? Time will tell. I don't have the patience for that. Then, I will look back to this entry. I wonder what I will think of it.
My God; who manages Team RMofP will make all the right team decisions and already has next season in sight.
Like all passionate players, the day after, I spent some time in tears. It was just soooo final. I truely didn't think a simple "so long, farewell, aufwiedersein, goodbye" dinner would affect both coach and player so deeply. It feels like we have lost the game of our lives.
The coach and i spent the day togther, doing a little shopping, browsing and drinking coffee. It was a good day all in all. As long as my coach doesn't wan't to trade me and God continues to manage our team, I'll be in for the long haul...no matter what comes our way.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment